Kalam Perantau


Batu Sapi: It’s a three-way contest

Its nomination day for the Batu Sapi parliamentary by-election which will be held on Nov 4. Nominations are open from 9am to 10am. Objections will close at 11am.

10.00am: Election Commission officials display copies of nomination forms filed by Barisan, SAPP and Pakatan candidates.

9.25am: Wan azizah and other Pakatan leaders walk over to the Barisan tent and greet Barisan leaders.

9.10am: Ansari files his nomination papers. PKR chief Datik Seri Dr Wan Azizah and other Pakatan Rakyat leaders are seated outside.

9.00am: Returning officer announces start of nomination period. Pakatan candidate Ansari Abdullah arrives outside nomination centre.

9.00am: Nomination is open and Datin Linda Tsen arrived with Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin, Sabah Chief Minister Musa Aman and other Barisan component party leaders. They are seated under a tent outside the nomination center.

9.00am: SAPP candidate Yong Teck Lee arrives at nomination centre with several hundred party flag carrying supporters.

8.10am: Barisan candidate Datin Linda Tsen Thau Lin arrives early at the town field with other Barisan top guns as they prepare to march towards the nomination centre.

Only a small number of PKR supporters are gathered while SAPP leaders said they are not gathering in any significant numbers. At the nomination centre, pockets of crowd waited for the arrival of the candidates with Barisan supporters marching in at 8.30am.

8.00am: By 6am the sun was up over Batu Sapi parliament constituency in the east coast of Sabah. The nomination centre at the Sandakan community hall opens its doors from 9am.

Supporters of Barisan Nasional, Pakatan Rakyat and Sabah Progresive Party began arriving from sunrise.

Security is tight around the nomination centre with a helicopter hovering over as Barisan supporters with flags and banners gathered at the town field around 300m away with small groups of SAPP and PKR supporters gathered on both sides of the main road some 50m away.


The constituency has 13,835 male (54.08%) and 11,747 female (45.92%) voters.

The seat’s ethnic composition is Muslim bumiputra (59.02% or 15,099) – Suluk, Bajau, Bugis, Orang Sungei and others, Chinese (38.06% or 9,737) – Hakka, Cantonese and Hokkien, non-Muslim bumiputra (2.69% or 689) – Kadazandusun and Murut and Indian (0.22% or 57).

The candidates who have declared their intentions and filed their nominations are Barisan’s Parti Bersatu Sabah Wanita vice-head Datin Linda Tsen Thau Lin, 54, opposition SAPP Datuk Yong Teck Lee, 51, and Parti Keadilan supreme council member Ansari Abdullah.

All in all, 26 nomination forms were taken from the Election Commission since the Nov 4 by-election was declared following the death of Tsen’s husband Datuk Chong Ket Wah in a Oct 9 road accident.


Filed under: News, , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Hasil Karya

HARAKAH sebagai media dakwah : Satu analisis



%d bloggers like this: